Submerged subway

This might be the longest escalater I’ve ever seen and in the two plus minutes I spent riding it out of the depths of the subway in Washington D.C. to ground level, I thought about how I would take a photograph on my next trip on it. The following morning, I got my gear and made my way down Mount Excalater and snapped this photo.

SIDE NOTE
: I have to say the D.C. transit system, called METRO, is by far the best I’ve used. It is extremely organized, simple to navigate, cheap to ride and wait times are minimal. And it’s a smooth ride! Living in Chicago and using the efficient but archaic trains there, and recently spending a few days on New York City subways, Washington’s transit was like traveling in luxury. I navigated to countless parts of town during two days of non stop sightseeing for a total of less than $12 and I never got lost.

For that alone, I could easily see myself moving to Washington one day. Great city. Nice people. Cool pubs. It felt like a place I could call home.

Leave a Reply

