Livin’ in the USSSA

On my way out of town yesterday, I stopped by one of the old softball parks I used to play at in Cincinnati. Riverstar Park, which is nestled down on the banks of the Ohio River near California, Ohio, is a treasure trove for photographs. The quiet quaintness of a river town mixed with the dust and passion of weekend warriors playing slow pitch softball. During my years playing there, I always wanted to do a story about one particular umpire who has been calling games longer than I have been alive. He’s as nice of a guy as you’ll ever meet and has the unique ability to inject humor into just about any situation.

I seriously think umpiring games keeps him feeling young and I like that aspect of his story. The game of softball has been a big portion of his life. He’s something of a living legend, but I just never got around to photographing him. Yesterday during my 20 minutes there, I had my camera and snapped four or five photos of him before I had to get back on the road. Maybe I’ll make it back sometime and actually work on it for a few days.

Oh, and USSSA stands for United States Specialty Sports Association in case you were wondering. Those socks are classic!

Leave a Reply

