Back to school!

My dad used to say the best two days of the school year are the first and last. Not sure I ever really agreed with him about the first day however. That day was always a little overwhelming for me. New teachers, new classmates, new responsibilities, new HOMEWORK! Ick.

First grade student Olivia Sigunick, 6, didn’t seem one bit stressed about her return to the school year though as she joined schoolmates and parents for a celebratory picnic at Beye Elementary School in Oak Park.

This is the school’s 130th year so faculty decided to throw a party in honor of that milestone. They had games that matched the era when the school first opened, which explains the wooden stick Olivia is holding. By the time I arrived at the picnic, I had about 20 minutes of daylight remaining. I did a quick scan of the students there and Olivia, with her great expressions, quickly caught my attention.

One Response to “Back to school!”

  1. I didn’t look quite so happy the first day back to school

Leave a Reply

