Lights, camera, action!

After 90 bazillion years of debate, the lights finally came on at Oak Park River Forest High School for a Friday night football game. For the first time ever, in fact. I was assigned to photograph the hoopla surrounding the “historic” event.

Through a previous assignment, I gained a contact in the high school’s Director of Student Information Systems, Jack Lanenga. He was gracious enough to walk me up to the roof of the nearby field house to shoot a nice angle of the stadium and the beautiful sunset that greeted us. While I’ve met plenty of wonderful people since moving to the area, they don’t come any nicer than Jack.

About 30 minutes later, on the complete opposite side of the stadium, another good soul helped me out. The building manager at the Medical Arts building in downtown Oak Park was great to meet me and allow me access to that building’s rooftop. I had noticed a few days earlier it would be a perfect perch to photograph the lights aglow and tracked down a number to call in my request. To my surprise, they were more than willing to help me out.

I guess the lesson is, behind plenty of photographs are plenty of people who make them possible. Without the assistance, patience and general kindness of a few good folks, I would never have been able to document this event the way I wanted.

6 Responses to “Lights, camera, action!”

  1. Hi-
    These pictures are amazing!

    Is it possible to purchase any of them?

    Please let me know
    Thank you for taking the time to show your talents and our new lights!
    Courtney

  2. An absolutely stunning chronicle of the event. I predict Oak Park historians will be looking at your work for many years to come. Congratulations.

  3. Courtney, thanks so much for your comments. Prints will be available for purchase soon. Check the Wednesday Journal photo store in a couple days. I should have them posted there by this weekend I hope.

    http://wednesdayjournalonline.mycapture.com/mycapture/index.asp

    Dmoon, thanks for checking out my photos! I really appreciate the compliment.

  4. GORGEOUS PHOTOS.

  5. Thank for linking us to this from the newspaper.

    Very nice!

Leave a Reply

