Shot of courage

Oak Park, like many communities, offered its residents free vaccinations for the H1N1 flu virus. I’ve always felt that covering services like this is the responsibility of media outlets so I made sure I documented some of the shots being administered. I tried to avoid the obvious photo of a youngster screaming and crying while getting a shot. That’s been done plenty already and frankly, I feel so bad for them. It’s a scary ordeal getting a shot when you’re so young.

I had to smile a little though when I noticed Logan Rose, 4, watching nervously as his big brother Wilken, 6, received his vaccination at the Oak Park Fire Department. Big brother’s bravery went a long way to making things more manageable for young Logan. The promise of chocolate candy from their dad didn’t hurt either!

Leave a Reply

