Cold as ice

Some people know how to live. Some just have a zest for trying new things and living each day as if it was the last. And who knows? If they jump into a freezing Lake Michigan as temperatures struggle to reach double digits, it actually might just be the last day.

Several hundred knuckleheads jumped into the frigid Lake Michigan waters at North Ave. Beach near downtown Chicago on New Years Day, proving once again you don’t have to be brave, just drunk. Okay maybe all of the folks there weren’t sauced, but you have to agree that would at least explain some of it.

I made my way down there to photograph this polar bear plunge with my brother and a friend. I have to admit there was a little something inside me that wanted to jump in just so I could say I did it. Maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

