Beautiful backlight

I wasn’t too hopeful when I first arrived at Columbia College for a photo assignment about the school’s new media production center. There wasn’t much going on and the only class in session turned out to be just a handful of students sitting at two tables. Then, bless his heart the professor of the class, David Moravec, had a couple large film lights flipped on and suddenly I was in business.

The ‘Lighting 1’ students and their teacher talked in front of the lights, giving me a chance to make an image. Every still photographer loves backlight! I worked it as long as I could and came up with some images that are probably a little more informative, but this was my favorite frame.

Moravec struck me as the type of teacher I would like. Not full of himself. Easy going. I gather he makes his classes fun and students walk away actually, you know, learning something.

Leave a Reply

