Dumpster diver

I use the term above fully understanding that some might think I’m poking fun at this individual. That is not the case.

Driving around town yesterday I noticed a man, who identified himself as Louie and said he is homeless. I shot a couple frames of him fishing through a dumpster in an Oak Park alley and then tapped him on the shoulder. He could not have been a nicer fellow. We talked for about 10 minutes, then I thanked him for being so kind to me and went along my way. As I drove off, Louie’s head and shoulders were deep in yet another dumpster, “looking for anything worth something,” as he explained.

I hope he can find what he’s looking for.

Leave a Reply

