Hockey town U.S.A.

Not since 1961 have the Chicago Blackhawks won the National Hockey League’s prized Stanley Cup, but the team is four wins away from doing just that this year. The city is busting with optimism and joy as a result.

I have to admit I rarely watched hockey when I was younger. We played baseball in the streets where I grew up. Endlessly. Here, though, kids are just as likely to pick up a hockey stick as they are a baseball bat. Particularly these days with the professional team’s recent success. These two youngsters play on Clinton St. just a few blocks from my home in Oak Park.

Like many others, I adopted the Blackhawks as my hockey team when I moved here more than two years ago. They have the best logo, the best fan experience and now one of the best teams in all of sports if you ask me. For the next week anyway, Chicago is officially “Hockey Town U.S.A.”. With absolutely no apologies to Detroit.

Leave a Reply

