Liberty for all

To save money, the community of Park Ridge, Ill. hosted its annual Fourth of July fireworks display at Maine East High School a couple days early. By having it Friday, July 2, the town avoided having to pay police officers and firefighters overtime pay for working a holiday. It didn’t seem to matter much to residents who showed up early and by the thousands.

I got there a couple hours early too and shot photos of people staking out their spots on the football field and surrounding areas. Then I waited. And waited. I was told the first firework would go off somewhere between 8:30-9 p.m. I had a 10 p.m. deadline with the Chicago Sun-Times so when the show didn’t start until 9:45 p.m. I knew I was up against some pretty rough odds.

I shot for 15 minutes as fireworks went off overhead, then ran to my truck to edit and transmit my images. The news desk had my photos by 10:20 p.m. Two are on the front page of the paper this morning above the headline “Friday night lights”.

For most people, fireworks displays are a fun and relaxing way to spend an evening. For photographers, it’s not quite as enjoyable.

3 Responses to “Liberty for all”

  1. Nice shots, J! You always have been pretty good at shooting fireworks.

  2. Thanks! I definitely don’t miss shooting those Labor Day fireworks in Cincinnati. Not at all.

  3. Just checked out the Sun-Times online. (I have some time on my hands…) Very nice!! I like the pic at the top of this page better than the other one they chose.

Leave a Reply

