This time of year

There are times when this city literally stops me in my tracks and for once I’m not talking about the traffic. Its beauty is at times off the charts. Yesterday, after a scheduled assignment was canceled, I had some free time on my hands so I took a drive around Lincoln Park’s North Pond area. I had noticed some fog rolling in off Lake Michigan so I parked and walked about a mile to Diversey Harbor where the trees are starting to burst with their annual autumn colors.

As the fog drifts pushed through, the late afternoon sunlight illuminated the scene even more, leaving me to divide my time between taking it all in and trying to make a photograph that came even close to how gorgeous it really was. I failed, but this will have to do. Because of the angle of the light, turning 90 degrees to the left or right completely changed the view. It was entirely dependent on how the light was crossing through this stretch of trees just so. As if I was meant to be standing there at that very moment.

Sometimes the photo gods smile and give you gold.

Leave a Reply

