Dark side of the moon

I was at Ella Flagg Young Elementary School in Austin this morning for a good ol’ hold steady for photographers. A hot air balloon team was there to show students how taking flights in a basket suspended from a pocket of air is somehow a sensible idea. I guess humans have been doing it since the 1700s so who am I to question it?

The crew consisted of two nice gentleman, one a former Indiana Pacers player of the ABA days which I thought was interesting. Can you imagine a current professional basketball player going from school to school talking to kids about hot air balloons these days? Yeah right! Anyway they used electric blowers to partially inflate the balloon inside the school’s gymnasium and students had a chance to walk inside it.

I think I’ve shot this exact thing five or six times already in my career. I went with the idea I was going to try to document it in a way I had never before but there really aren’t that many ways to do it!

Leave a Reply

