Kid in a candy factory

I have to admit, I was pretty excited for a recent assignment at Ferrara Pan Candy Co. in Forest Park, Ill. I’m not a big sweets guy, but this place makes the world famous Lemonheads and Atomic Fireballs candy we all grew up on. I’m always curious to see how things like that are made.

The factory was amazing. Like a fine-tuned machine, hundreds of employees zipped between constantly moving assembly lines as they teamed to produce thousands of pounds of candy every hour. The sound was deafening and the thick smell of fructose was nearly overwhelming. Check out a few photos from my two hours inside the factory.

2 Responses to “Kid in a candy factory”

  1. Nice shots. I imagine that would be a fun assignment.

  2. OK, I am pretty jealous. If you are what you eat, then I would be a lemonhead. Can I be your assistant next time?

Leave a Reply

