Captive audience

I’m not going to lie, I was a little bored at the Roosevelt Middle School fifth-grade talent show last week. It wasn’t the talent on stage or anything. After all, one student sang a rendition of “Conte Partiro” and another brought the house down with a solo performance of Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin'”. You don’t see that every day.

I’ve just shot a lot of school stuff lately. Plays, after school arts projects, gym class, the list goes on. So my mind was wandering a little by about the seventh or eighth act. I started to shoot the parents in the seats who were covered in darkness until a spotlight occasionally swept past and partially illuminate them. I’m sure audience members were thinking, “Hey buddy, photograph the kids will ya?” I was thinking, “I have. A lot.”

2 Responses to “Captive audience”

Leave a Reply

