A win-win-win situation

Sometimes, I shoot assignments on my days off. That can be a slippery slope, but when you’re doing something you love, it doesn’t always feel like work. That was the case this Tuesday when I volunteered to photograph clients from Oak-Leyden Developmental Services during a visit to the Animal Care League in Oak Park.

My wife and I just adopted a dog from the ACL so it’s a place we admire and support. When I heard folks from Oak-Leyden stop by once a week to visit with the animals and help out with chores around the shelter, my heart melted. What a great situation.

Oak-Leyden helps people with developmental disabilities meet life’s challenges and achieve their highest potential and as much independence as possible. Chris Wright, 37, was part of the group who visited Tuesday and found a friend in Rudy, a golden retriever up for adoption.

The ACL wins because it gets help with the relentless task of keeping the shelter clean and caring for the pets. The group from Oak-Leyden wins because it’s obvious they enjoy interacting with the animals. The cats and dogs certainly benefit as well, loving all the attention they receive.

Heck, I won too. I had a blast covering this and it put a smile on my face for the rest of the day.

Leave a Reply

