Oh, snow

A few photos I shot from Oak Park, River Forest, Forest Park, Riverside, Chicago and Lincoln Park during the blizzard of 2011.

One of the things I learned early on in my career is that despite the weather, you have to show up to work. In fact, when the weather is particularly bad, that’s when you really need to show up.

One of the challenges for me was that I am the only shooter for the chain of six newspapers I work for so I think the photos I came up with were a little watered down as a result of me having to get to all of the locations I needed to. For the first time in my 10-year career, I had a very tough time getting to and from. Tuesday night was as difficult of a situation to work in as I’ve ever come across and I’ve photographed riots and the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. It took me a couple hours to dig out of my alley in Oak Park Wednesday morning too, and once I was on the road the white out conditions in downtown were something I’ve never come across before.

It was exhausting, but also interesting. The images gathered by Chicago journalists from this story was collectively incredible. I feel like I added just a few more that were marginal at best.

One Response to “Oh, snow”

  1. Nice shots!! Every pictures tells something different and special. Keep it up!!

Leave a Reply

