Infield fly rule

With all of the technological advances that have changed the way a photograph is taken, the same time-honored tradition still holds true. Shoot first, review later.

The sequence above includes four of eight total frames I shot of this play during a high school baseball game Friday in Elmwood Park. Not included are three frames shot before the images above, and one frame following the sequence.

I think I might have missed the best image though because I forgot that pesky rule I just mentioned. Instead of continuing to track the action, I brought my camera down to my side, satisfied I had made a decent photograph of a botched infield fly. Just then I noticed a priceless “you’ve got to be kidding me” expression on the face of the player who made the error, ball sitting in the grass at his side. I missed it. My reflex to be happy with the image I already shot was faster than my reflex to shoot and review later.

You’re never going to get every photograph you would like, but there’s no reason why I shouldn’t have been able to document this one.

Leave a Reply

