Here’s the pitch

I shot this photograph a month ago but never got around to posting it here. I like it, although it’s a pretty redundant image.

For years, I was obsessed with using the longest focal length I could to photograph sports. 400mm/2.8. Freeze the action with a really tight crop and very little clutter in the background. That sort of thing. And that is a nice way to photograph sports, but recently I’ve relied much less on the glass attached to my camera and more on keeping it simple.

Honestly, there was a time I would never have considered shooting a baseball game with a 70-200mm lens, but I’ve shot the last four or five with nothing but that. Using that lens obviously puts less players on a baseball field in the field of vision, but it is possible to get some nice shots. For starters, pun intended, the pitcher is within reach. I shoot a lot of high school games by positioning myself directly behind home plate and shoot through the chain link backstop. That position gives you a chance to at least photograph plays on the mound, at the plate, third base and first base.

One Response to “Here’s the pitch”

Leave a Reply

