Life in the bike lane

Today marked the opening of Chicago’s first protected bike lane, which is separated from other traffic by plastic pole dividers and runs along Kinzie St. between Milwaukee Ave. and Wells St. I shot plenty of photos that show the bike lanes much better, but I think this image is interesting in other ways.

I tried my dangdest to line up a passing biker in the tiny little bit of available backlight I had to work with for quite some time. Surprisingly enough, there were very few bicyclists using the lanes at the time I was there and the angle I had to take was, well, flat on my stomach under a train overpass. Not exactly the most enjoyable position so after a few attempts, I was happy with a couple and decided to head to my next assignment.

3 Responses to “Life in the bike lane”

  1. My favorite! Jason you are so inspiring!

Leave a Reply

